The presence of this planet has been told in Vedic astrology itself. It is also in the form of a shadow planet which gives fruits according to the position and the planet sitting with him. Which house and in which form Ketu is sitting in the horoscope, it greatly influences its outcome. Mar 16, 2021 A planet is considered to be dominant if it lies in the sign that it rules on your birth chart. For example, is Mars has a Aries background, this makes this planet more powerful in your birth chart. It usually means that these planets have a more powerful influence on the Birth Chart than other planets.

Vedic astrology aspects are nothing but the view or Drishthis of a planet in one house on the other houses or one sign on the other signs.

Vedic astrology aspects are mainly of 2 types.

  • Sign aspects and
  • planetary aspects.

Aspects of Signs

To know these it is important to remember different Signs and their features.

As mentioned earlier in another post Signs according to their nature can be divided into 3 types. Movable, fixed and dual.

1,4,7,10 which are Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn are movable Signs.

2,5,8,11 which are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius are fixed Signs.

3,6,9,12 which are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces are dual Signs or common Signs.

According to the rules given in the Brahat Parashara Hora Shastra all Signs aspect, the Sign falling opposite to them and also those falling on both sides of them.

So movable Signs have their aspects on fifth, eighth and eleventh from them, fixed ones on the third, sixth and ninth from them and dual ones on the 4th,7th and 10th from them.

What it means in simpler words is that movable Signs aspect all the fixed Signs except the fixed Sign adjacent to them. Fixed Sign aspects all the movable Signs except for the movable Sign which falls twelfth from it and a dual Sign aspects all the remaining dual Signs. Planets in those Signs also have similar aspects as the Signs they occupy.

Vedic Astrology Aspects of Each Planet

Apart from having the Sign aspects planets also have their own individual aspects from the position they are placed in the horoscope. Below are given the Aspects of each planet and the extent to which they aspect.


Fully aspects the 7th house, gives a 3/4th aspect on the 4th and 8th houses, half aspect(50%) on the 5th and the 9th house and quarter(1/4th) on the 3rd and 10th house.


Fully aspects the 7th house, 3/4th aspect on the 4th and the 8th, half aspect on the 5th and 9th and 1/4th on the 3rd and the 10th house.


Full aspect on the 4th,7th and the 8th house, half aspect on the 5th and the 9th house, quarter aspect on the 3rd and the 10th house.


Fully aspects the 7th house, 3/4th aspect on the 4th and the 8th, half aspect on the 5th and 9th and 1/4th on the 3rd and the 10th house.


Find your dominant planet

Full aspect on the 5th,7th and the 9th house, 3/4th on the 4th and the 8th house, quarter on the 3rd and the 10th house.


Fully aspects the 7th house, 3/4th aspect on the 4th and the 8th, half aspect on the 5th and 9th and 1/4th on the 3rd and the 10th house.


Fully aspects the 3rd,10th and 7th houses, 3/4th aspect on the 4th and 8th houses and half aspect on the 5th and the 9th house.

Benefic and Malefic Aspects

Aspects can be Benefic (which is good for us) and/or Malefic (Causing bad and harmful effects to the house) depending on the dignity of the planet and their natural inclinations. For example, Jupiter is a natural benefic whose aspect usually is considered good unless Jupiter itself is under severe affliction from malefics and conjunctions and is in the wrong house. Also if Jupiter is a functional malefic in a chart it can cause harm due to its aspects.

If Pluto is the dominant planet in your natal chart, then you will be said to be a Plutonian. Pluto is associated with power, sexual magnetism and a feeling of being unique.

These characteristics can be positive or negative, depending on the other aspects of an individual person's natal chart, and the course of their life as a whole.


This power can be sexual power (i.e. a wonderful sexual magnetism that can be a positive force in romantic life), financial power (many Plutonians are rich, and it is not for nothing that the word 'plutocrat' means someone who uses their wealth to rule), or the ability to lead and govern.

Very often in astrology, the positive and negative characteristics of a given planet's influence are like the front and back of a coin. So, the positive characteristics of a dominant Pluto can also be turned into negative ones if the individual is not aware.

What Is My Dominant Planet In Vedic Astrology 2020

The feeling of being unique, for example, that many Plutonians have, can turn into a sense that that individual is more important than others, and that they are above the law and can do whatever they want regardless of the needs and feelings of other people.

Plutonians can all too often use their power for selfish or destructive ends. They can become jealous if they feel that they are not being given the attention that they feel they deserve. It is for this reason that Pluto is associated with dictators, but also with possessive lovers.

The meaning of a dominant Pluto is closely tied to Pluto's more general meaning in astrology. Pluto is a planet associated with transformations. These can be positive renewals and rebirths or negative, destructive transformations.
Pluto governs the deep instincts. It drives everything that is below the surface in our lives. As such, Pluto can often be the planet of hidden power.

The ruler of Scorpio, Pluto has many of the characteristics of the sign. Possessiveness, strength, power, the love of being an authority figure and a hatred of being undermined are all Plutonian characteristics. Pluto is associated with strength and passion that can be used for violence - or for good.

Which Planet Is My Dominant

To discover your dominant planet, go to the Astro Reports section and click on the 'Birth chart's answers' box. There are 3 boxes dedicated to your dominant planet with comprehensive interpretations.

Find Your Dominant Planet

See also: